Using aliases - RESOLVED

Discuss any topic about Brekeke SIP Server.

Moderator: Brekeke Support Team

Post Reply
dstu
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:56 am

Using aliases - RESOLVED

Post by dstu »

1. Brekeke Product Name and Version:
Brekeke SIP Server , Version 3.2.4.3 Advanced

5. Your problem:
I need help in defining/using aliases.

I have several rules that I move up and down, depending on the destination application server. I understand that an alias can make my life easier by reducing the number of rules in the dial-plan, but I don't know how.

These are the examples of rules I currently have:

Rule1:
--------------------------
[Matching Patterns:]
$request = ^INVITE
$addr = x.x.x.x
To = sip:(123456)@

[Deploy Patterns:]
To = sip:%1@server01.mynet.lan
$session = failover sip:%1@server02.mynet.lan
--------------------------


Rule2:
--------------------------
[Matching Patterns:]
$request = ^INVITE
$addr = x.x.x.x
To = sip:(123456)@

[Deploy Patterns:]
To = sip:%1@server02.mynet.lan
$session = failover sip:%1@server03.mynet.lan
--------------------------

Rule3:
[Matching Patterns:]
$request = ^INVITE
$addr = x.x.x.x
To = sip:(123456)@

[Deploy Patterns:]
To = sip:%1@server03.mynet.lan
$session = failover sip:%1@server01.mynet.lan
--------------------------

How can I use aliases to reduce the number of rules and once done, how do I use the aliases to change the routing quickly?

Thank you in advance,

David
Last edited by dstu on Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
llucy
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:08 am

Post by llucy »

It is not clear to me. What do you have in the alias database?
The mapping of an IP address and a phone number?

Lucy
dstu
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:56 am

Post by dstu »

I figured it out.

I do the following:
--------------------------
[Matching Patterns:]
$request = ^INVITE
$addr = x.x.x.x
To = sip:(123456)@
$alias.lookup("server1") = (.+)
$alias.lookup("server2") = (.+)

[Deploy Patterns:]
To = sip:%1@%2
$session = failover sip:%1@%3
--------------------------


In the aliases table, I have these entries:
--------------------------
server1, servers, server01.mynet.lan
server2, servers, server02.mynet.lan
--------------------------

I can change manually the servers entries in the aliases table and the changes are applied immediately.
ambrosio
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:20 pm

Post by ambrosio »

dstu,

Your DialPlan works but it has two "$alias.lookup" lines.
It means there will be two database calls.

How many "serverX" definitions do you have? (or are you planning?)
If there are few, I don't recommend you use the Alias.

Here is another solution. This solution doesn't require any database accesses.
=========================
1. Go to the [Configuration]->[Advanced] page.

2. Add the lines like the following.
--------------------------------------
my.server1=server01.mynet.lan
my.server2=server02.mynet.lan
--------------------------------------

3. Push the [Save] button and restart the SIP Server.

4. Use this Matching Patterns.
[Matching Patterns]
$request = ^INVITE
$addr = x.x.x.x
To = sip:(123456)@
&my.server1 = (.+)
&my.server2 = (.+)

=========================
dstu
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:56 am

Post by dstu »

ambrosio wrote:Push the [Save] button and restart the SIP Server.
The whole point of using the aliases mechanism is that I can manually reroute the traffic by changing the entity server name from 01 to 02 or 03 or 04... and I don't even have to "Apply" the change.

I can't restart the server that's running hundreds of sessions (at least)
Post Reply